2018 January

Senyai project wins the 2017 LIT Design Awards in the Hotel and Restaurant Design category. LIT Design Awards was created with the belief that lighting is an art and a science, and it is one of the most important elements of design.

2017 December

Aisha Han writes about Senyai in The Tartan, Carnegie Mellon’s student newspaper.

2017 November

Senyai project wins The American Architecture Prize, read more in the CMU news article.

ENVIRONMENT, FORM, FEEDBACK: Adaptive Eco-Morphologies

| 3rd Year Core Design Studio | Fall 2015-17 |

| CMU School of Architecture | Coordinator & Instructor : Dana Cupkova | Section Instructors: Gretchen Craig, Marantha Dawkins, Matthew Huber, Eddy Man Kim, Matt Plecity | Wetware Workshop'16 with Marco Poletto |

This studio is founded on a premise that architecture is fundamentally a part of a larger planetary ecosystem. Initially, the studio is focused on understanding the larger ecology of the site, followed by a careful development of architectural objects and their aggregation at the urban scale. We negotiate spatial relationships among the site, water infrastructure, local ecologies and a proposed architectural tectonics. Environment Form Feedback negotiates building forms and their organization within its urban and ecological landscape. By engaging environmental patterns and identifying micro-climatic behaviors such as airflow, daylighting and water flow in early design stages, we move towards the design of discrete city forms and architectural interventions that translate across scales to give new shape to the contemporary city edge. Through a semester-long design project, students are introduced to both analog and computationally-based design techniques that integrate form-making with environmental simulation, in search of individualized architectural language.

Flux Competition Architect Magazine
Flux 2016

| STUDENTS: Gunn Chaiyapatranun, Somin Shim, Elizabeth Levy, Judy Li, Gao Yang, Veronica Wang, Serra Cizmeci, Hannah Martinez, Jacob Uhlenhopp, Isadora Martins, Brandon Darreff, Nicole Lee-Park, Alina Kramkova, Nika Postnikov, Christina Brown, Scarlet Tong, D.K Wang, Trent Wimbiscus, Megan Chin, Timothy Kalifa, Adam Kor, Rachel Baker, Kelly Li, Sinan Goral, Sophie Narhmann |